Colouring Your Garden – Part 4: Saturated Solutions

high-saturation-plants

 

Combining proper hues to achieve maximum impact in the garden is a very important element in landscape design. I am sharing this outstanding and very informative post from Sue Gaviller at Not Another Gardening Blog.

Not Another Gardening Blog

A week or so ago, while out for a walk with my sister in her inner-city neighbourhood, I heard the familiar sound of Robin chirps. It took me a minute to realize that the sound was out of place on this mid-February afternoon. Indeed my sister doubted me initially, but then she heard it too. “Holy $#!+.” she said.  According to local bird experts a few robins do spend the winter here, but neither of us had ever seen one this early in the year.

Several blocks later I happened to look up and espied what appeared to be pussy willows. At first I thought it might be water droplets on the branches reflecting the late day sun – but then I reached up and felt the fat fuzzy protuberances. Yep, those are pussy willows. While there are many species of willow that produce the downy catkins, a few as early as February,  Salix discolor, the true North…

View original post 1,716 more words

4 thoughts on “Colouring Your Garden – Part 4: Saturated Solutions

  1. Hi Lee,

    Thanks for the re-blog. Colour is a vast topic, this particular post covering but one aspect (the other two attributes of colour, Hue and Value, I’ve presented in previous posts). And of course there’s still so much more to talk about…………..

    I’ve been getting caught up on your posts – lovely and informative as usual. And congrats on the book – it looks great!

    Sue

Comments:

